round here

‘My stomach was in my throat. In my throat. I thought I’d be, I don’t know now, sick, maybe. I just couldn’t go there, couldn’t think about it, that they’d been there when we were all here. And it must have been a couple because they took both of them. You couldn’t do that alone, could you? They must have been watching us. Waiting for it to rain.’

‘Oh they wait for the rain alright. It’s the same on the allotments. They wait for the rain. Or the snow. The moment it snows, it all goes.’

‘We’ve noticed our gate. Open in the mornings. Before the milkman’s been. Before the post’s arrived. Wide open. Last week we found a man in the garden. When we asked him what he was doing, he told us to mind our business, that he was busy sorting things out. In our garden!’

‘They do that.’

‘I found the basket half way up the street. They must have ditched it in the getaway.’

‘Should we keep it? Evidence? Won’t they want to fingerprint it? Have we destroyed the evidence?’

‘The suits won’t waste their time on this.’

‘We haven’t even got a station any more. They’re not going to bother with this kind of stuff are they.’

‘Well maybe we should bolt our gates. Get padlocks?’

‘Or cameras? Have you seen number 120? They’ve got two cameras. Not for the front door either. For the whole street. Won’t walk down that side any more. Makes me feel odd it does. I walk on the other side, on this side.’

‘But what will we tell them when they get back? It might give her another turn. Should we tell her? Should we warn them? What if she has a turn? How shall we tell her?’

‘We won’t tell her. She’ll see for herself.’

‘And what if she has a turn? Loses the baby? Then what?’

‘Then we’ll cross that bridge.’

