déjà vu

A very good waxworker and sculptor (take a look at these!) sent me an interesting message this morning about the media (we’ve been chatting a little about the Cabinda story) which I quote in full here:

‘A terribly young artist puts his finger on something. Sorry it is from the Daily Mail!

‘I’m surprised so few people are interested in the Cabinda story. I must admit that for many years I was remiss about looking beyond the studio and gallery walls, and it was teaching, talking to Ben Watson and to you and J amongst others that refocused my sight a bit further beyond. Now I look out for the stories in the news that make it clear how little we are really told, and I get my visuals from other peoples’ blogs, online travel diaries and so on – unmediated insofar as poss. There is a feeling one gets in the pit of the stomach when the mainstream media gloss over something, or redirect one’s attention, or tell a partial truth, a feeling subtle enough to miss, like the feeling of déjà vu. I don’t understand enough physics to understand the parallel universe theories (eg [the late] David Lewis’s Possible Worlds [and plural worlds], too much maths !) but idly speculate that déjà vu is a sign of when two possible worlds nudge near one another. Disquieting, that what is given as real isn’t. So to feel the disquiet when distrusting the news is a sense that could perhaps be developed and improved. I couldn’t work for the BBC, they would hate me!

‘Eyes peeled.’

So thank you EC. Actually, the BBC probably wouldn’t hate you. They should probably fear you, but something I notice about the BBC is that it is so limited in its ‘world view’ that it seems incapable of noticing criticism or challenges unless they are simplistic and blatant. They would want to embrace you EC because they would love the idea of embracing an artist/academic. They probably wouldn’t care much about what you actually think or believe or how you actually think or see: they would just like you because of your label. Anyway… who cares what they would hate or not. This has opened up worlds to me, not only David Lewis’ but also more ideas for my never-ending rantings about the flaws of the modern media. Fabuloso.

