long hair therefore etc

Black Looks brought me here . . .

at an appropriate time given that this is coming out (though for some reason I can’t seem to buy it) but also because I’ve been thinking a lot about Caster Semenya and the ways in which we perceive gender. I’ve been mistaken for a man on many occasions, including once when a group of skinheads decided they wanted to beat me up because they thought I was a transvestite. I’m sure I’ve blogged about this before, but it’s worth repeating. Friends, & strangers I’ve told (coz I like talking to strangers), always try to reassure me: But you don’t look anything LIKE a man! But I have hard evidence they are wrong, having been (almost) attacked and abused by all kinds for my male looks. I became so ground down by the whole thing, eventually I just grew my hair. Now nobody – not even the security guard in Mare Street’s Primark – thinks I’m a man. Long hair = girl. Allelujah. But oh how one-dimensional. I am looking forward to Nina’s contribution.

