Bernardine Evaristo…

has finally – and about bloody time! – joined the blogosphere. Big shout goin’ out. If you don’t know her work, you should. Her first book (I know I’m an egotist) was, and is, called Lara which is kind of why I met her. Sort of. And I met her in Accra in Ghana, funnily enough when I did my first interview for the BBC World Service. It was with Nadine Gordimer and was so bad that even NG asked: “I hope you don’t mind me asking, but are you new to this?” I lied, of course. “No, no, not at all. I’ve been doing this for ages.” The interview was not deemed broadcastable. But I’ve kept the tape and must listen to it one of these days, when I’m feeling more sure of myself. If I listened to it now, I’d probably go and stand in the middle of Lower Clapton Road and throw myself at a bendy 38 bus.

And Bernardine (two Rs, remember): that’s a fabulous picture of you on the top left.

2 thoughts on “Bernardine Evaristo…

  1. Hey Lara,

    Getting the hang of this bloggy-thingy. Yes, Ghana, it was so long ago now and my first British Council trip. Well, they funded my visit but didn’t organise the festival which, I seem to remember, was possibly the worst ever in my history of touring! (Must do new post: ‘Worst gig ever’).

    And I saw that review today which is rather lovely. I’ve had two extremely long online reviews which I really appreciate because the critics can’t be getting paid to write ’em.

    Anon
    xb

Comments are closed.