money

‘Wealthism can deepen the sense of isolation that many heirs feel. Raised in sheltered enclaves, they can be woefully ignorant of life in “the real world”. As a result, they may find it hard to make friends beyond their own small circle. This difficulty is one of the dilemmas of having inherited wealth: failed attempts to befriend those without wealth only intensify an heir’s sense of isolation. Joanie Bronfman interviewed one woman who clearly articulated this situation when she said, “There’s a world of other people that I can’t quite relate to. I can’t say, ‘Why don’t you just get a new car if your car breaks down?’ And that’s always my first reaction. There’s a definite separateness about my reactions to the people who don’t have money and the difficulties that they have.”‘ More on this here.

I don’t think there’s much to add to this. I just feel sorry for all those trustafarians. But do they really say things like this? Or is the book made up? (Thanks to ‘i on the ball patriot’ who drew my attention to this here.)

