there is no author…

I think I’ve got to believe in the mystery of creativity.

I’ve risked praising VS Naipaul before in this blog’s predecessor – and it made me very unpopular in certain quarters. He holds some repugnant views, I know. But that does not change the fact that he is a superb writer and I admire his writing hugely. This review is worth reading if, like me, you are interested in the man and his work. Thanks to CD for the alert. Toumani Diabate is a similar case. The most beautiful kora player, but a pig of a man who treats those around him like dirt, abusing local Malian fans in a manner that has almost succeeded in putting me off listening to his music altogether. He told me that one of his main aims in life is to play with Michael Jackson – for the fame and fortune, mind you, not the artistic creative opportunity.

4 thoughts on “there is no author…

  1. […] nobody@flickr.com (still.) wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt… abusing local Malian fans in a manner that has almost succeeded in putting me off listening to his music altogether. He told me that one of his main aims in life is to play with Michael Jackson – for the fame and fortune, mind you, … […]

  2. Dear Nobody, As you see still a lot of people have not realised how great Micheal Jackson is , I do not speak in the past because from what I know he will be coming back to surprise the Music world.
    I was one of the few if not only journalist who bet that Micheal was fully innocent, I am not young enough to go and scream but I had the luck to meet him for ten seconds and crab a “Thank You very much for your support”. About NeverLand Ranch that is the Past,now Micheal is having a new Life Style Working hard in his new release and being a wonderful Dad. He has been engaged with us for The Niger Famine and Darfur.So your friend do not need to learn the Artistic style of Micheal if you wants to play with him, but he will feel it in his body and soul,if he will ever get the opportunity. Mahari Seghid “African Refugees News”

  3. So cynical. The words Michael and Jackson make instance success on the hits front. I’m not sure whether I’m happy or sad. No more comments.

Comments are closed.